Chill and Grill!

leonchill

DJ Lumibug kicked off this weeks Chill and Grill event in Bowens Lane at RMIT University.  His set was quite ‘lounge’ with a minimalistic approach at times, very percussive at times, I’m not sure if it was the right choice of act for a lunch time gig, it was a bit too relaxing and background style music for this event i feel.   However some interesting sounds and would be very impressive in the right atmosphere i believe.

Next up in the set was Lennox,  a four piece line up- two guitarists, drum and bass, a classic alternative rock line up. The music was quite melancholic.  I really enjoyed the vocals, they seemed to have a very laid-back emotional affect on me.  I think this band could be categorised as ‘stoner’ rock! Occasionally the lead vocalist struggled with pitch with his singing, but for the most past it was cool and i feel it added to style in a alternative way.

The next band up was called BEN.  These guys were super cool!  Nice and heavy, epic and full of original material which reminded me of alternative progressive rock which is coming out of Copenhagen at the moment, very rockin.’  The four piece is from singapore and I’ve recently heard that they are breaking up due to visa expiration which is a shame considering you can see how much work has gone into getting this set together.  I guess all things come to an end.  I love to see instrumental bands, it really allows the audience to interpret the material from an individual viewpoint.

Another successful event!

 

 

 

Leave a comment